Home

Written? Kitten! is an application that inspires writers to meet deadlines using kittens. There’s a dialogue box that counts the number of words you write (you can set your target at 100, 200, 500 or 1,000). Once you reach the target, a photo of a kitten appears on the right.  Click images for larger view, and to see how I got guilted by a kitten.

The application was apparently developed to help those taking part in the NaNoWriMo challenge. Presumably, some people have actually used it to write, rather than tap away senselessly at their keyboards just to see the next kitty.

Give it a few years, and instead of “dangling  a carrot” before someone, we’ll “show them a kitten” to get them to do things. And it’ll all be thanks to Lolcats.

6 thoughts on “Cat Got Your Wordcount

    • Did you see that video about a catvertising firm? I still don’t know for the life of me if that’s for real.

      NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. It was started a few years ago (10-ish, I think) in America and now it’s quite international. The challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. That translates to writing about 1,667 words a day.

      • I sure did. Its an amazing video and of course its not real (but really, it should be)

        Wow – how are you getting along with nano-worm-o? (Thats how it reads in my brain and I can’t handle the complex acronym. I mean I can barely spell acronym, not without spell checker anyway)

        What’s your novel about?

    • Thank you. It’s a simple low-hassle, almost-zero customisation theme but I quite liked the twirly-comma-shaped stuff.

      I’ve lost count of how many words behind I am. But I write in hope, and without kittens. I’m hoping to have a clearer idea of what it’s about once I’ve finished writing it.

Leave a Reply

