Home

There are so many logs in my backlog that I could build everyone in Switzerland a chalet, which is why I’ve decided to abandon any and all ambitions of clearing it. Them posts are just going to appear, hopefully. At the rate I’m blogging these days, they’ll probably never show up. It’s been harder and harder to blog of late. Part of the problem is that I spend most of the working day churning out copy and we use a WordPress template at work, which makes the thought of opening up WordPress after work extremely untempting. I find myself wandering around Tumblr instead, just because the interface doesn’t remind me of the rubbish that I’ve spouted during the day. Plus all this relentless ranting is making my online personality even more dull than my actual personality (ref: this drawing by TRP, which once rang so true. No longer.) Sigh.

Anyway, the reason I’m writing this is not to mope about how boring and bored I am but because David Bowie has come out with a new video, “The Next Day”. Like so much of Bowie’s stuff, it makes no sense whatsoever. At least it doesn’t to me. Why does Gary Oldman have slicked back hair as though he’s just trying to join an Italian mafia? What is that platinum blonde-haired woman doing wearing nothing but a veil and strategically positioned golden stickers? Why is Marion Cotillard in the video and why does she start squirting blood from stigmata? And is David Bowie supposed to be Jesus?

There’s a part of me that feels I should have some idea of what’s going on given I spent a fair bit of time (not to mention some 15 pounds) at the exhibition David Bowie Is at the Victoria and Albert Museum. It was like wandering around a shrine put together by a particularly lunatic Bowie fan. There were old costumes, audio recordings, video interviews, video art, gushing comments from some people who had worked with him. The wall text was so full of admiration that I was quite certain that if I touched it, a little bit of drool would rub on to my fingers. It was great fun, particularly since Bowie has written some fantastic songs and there were some of the exhibits were absolutely gorgeous visually, like this one which showed two of his costumes and played an old recording of one of Bowie’s tv performances.

photo (11)

Photography wasn’t allowed so this is a smuggled photo. And it’s mine, my own. Not quite precious, but what the hell.

Fun as it was, the exhibition felt like being inside a rather extravagant press release that would like us all to believe that there hasn’t been a mind like David Bowie’s since Einstein. It’s as though he’d rented the V & A for an elaborate publicity campaign, which may well have been the case given Bowie has a new album. I remember telling someone that they should have titled it “David Bowie is God”, rather than David Bowie Is.

And the next thing I know, Bowie has dressed up as Son of God in his video.

You may call me Cassandra.

Leave a Reply

